Maryland State House

Facebook Fan Page Become a Fan on Facebook!

Authority:Friends of Pam Beidle, Leonard W. Beidle, treasurer.
Sen. Ed DeGrange
Del. Ted Sophocleus
Del. Mark Chang
Del. Pam Beidle
Looking for Insurance?
Beidle Nationwide Insurance
Sign Up for Email Updates:

Anne Arundel School Board


Recently I had an opportunity to do an interview on Comcast regarding the school board bills pending before the legislature,  you can view it at:

An elected Anne Arundel County School Board has been a topic of conversation and controversy in the County Delegation. 

My bill, HB 716, is a fully elected school board similar to 17 other counties.  It provides for the election of the school board by Councilmanic Districts, so that is 7 elected members plus one student member from CRASC.  An additional member elected Countywide was amended out of the bill.

House Bill 716 includes:

  • Non-partisan elections by Council Districts.  This means there is a primary and the top two names go on the General Election Ballot.
  • An election in 2018 for four members of School Board that are at, or near the end of their term.
  • The election in 2020 replaces the final three board members.  After that the elections will occur every four years in Presidential Elections.
  • Terms are four years, with a two term limit.
  • The County Council fills a vacancy during a term.
  • The bill changes the School Board Nominating Commission to the School Board Appointment Commission and they will either extend terms or appoint new members until the elections take place.
  • Five (5) votes are required to pass any issue.
  • A clause that allows the State Board to remove any member for certain specified reasons.
  • A salary increase for the board members (beginning with the next term of office) varying amounts.  Salaries for the president and vice president are increased by $2,000 and $3,000 annually, respectively, and salaries for all other members are increased by $2,000 annually.


Senator Simonaire is the sponsor of the other bill, SB 131, it provides for an 11 member hybrid board consisting of 7 elected member (1 from each of the seven councilmanic districts on a nonpartisan basis), 3 members appointed at large by the School Board Appointment Commission, and 1 student member.

Senate Bill 131 includes:

  • Non-partisan election by Council Districts for 7 members, with staggered 4-year terms.
  • 3 members elected in 2018 and 4 members elected in 2020.
  • 3 appointed members are appointed by the renamed School Board Appointment Commission for the county at large.
  • The bill renames the School Board Nominating Commission to the School Board Appointment Commission and they will make appointments on the expiration of the term of an appointed member and fill any vacancy that occurs during the term of an incumbent either elected or appointed.
  • Repeals the requirement for a retention election.
  • Limits members to two consecutive 4 year terms


House Bill 555, Delegate Saab’s Board of Education bill was withdrawn.  It was very similar to HB 716 but included one member appointed by the County Executive.


The Sunday Capital recently published an article regarding the current bills, the ongoing review and work towards compromise.


Please feel free to share your thoughts with all of the Senators and Delegates. 

Office Information

My office continues to be staffed by Nancy Lipin Crawford, my Chief of Staff and Maggie J. Hobbins, my Legislative Assistant.  My office is open full time during the Session. Please feel free to contact me with your thoughts and concerns. My contact information remains: or 410.841.3370.  You can also find updates at my website and on Facebook at Delegate Pam Beidle.

It is truly an honor to serve you in the Maryland General Assembly.


Welcome | About Pam | Accomplishments | Newsletter | Contact
Authority: Friends of Pam Beidle, Leonard W. Beidle, Treasurer